Expert answers to questions on health care, travel, cooking, technology, etc. Over two million original articles, recipes, product reviews, videos, tutorials, etc. A top 15 content site.
- Acronym Finder Abbreviations & Acronyms Dictionary
Over 750,000 entries. World's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. and abbreviations.
- Bartleby.com Reference
Free classic online reference books including Robert's Rules of Order; Gray's Anatomy; Roget's International Thesaurus; Emily Post's Etiquette; Fannie Farmer's Cook Book; quotation & poetry books; english usage books; religion & mythology books, etc.
- Credo Reference
Search 100 dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc., simultaneously or separately. Subjects include medicine, social sciences, psychology, history, geography, business, science, English Language, Spanish, Latin. Images can be inserted into presentations.
- Drug Information Portal
Current and accurate drug information on over 56,000 drugs from the National Library of Medicine & other US government agencies.
- Free Reference Books
Variety of reference sources available for searching or downloading
- Martindale's "The Reference Desk"
Links to online resources in business, math, science, technology, languages & translations, medicine, nursing, etc.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Respected guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 600,000 English language words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 3 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
- Taber's Medical Dictionary Online
Electronic version of Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. Includes 60,000 medical entries; "sounds like" search feature; full-color images & audio.
Includes Webster's New World College Dictionary; Roget's II; Webster's New World Law Dictionary; American Heritage Medical Dictionary; American Heritage Science Dictionary; Wall Street Words; Computer Desktop Encyclopedia; New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy, etc.
St. John's Hospital
Health Sciences Library
800 E. Carpenter St.
Springfield, IL 62769
Phone: 217-544-6464 ext 44566
Fax: 217-525-2895Send Email