- About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
Evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements & more.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOHOST)
Index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subjects. See Info button for help with mobile access.
- AccessEmergency Medicine
Emergency medicine textbooks, exam & review resources, procedures, videos, images, CME, CORD cases, etc. Library has a 2 concurrent user license. If you are turned away, try again in a few minutes. Click Info button for mobile access information.
- ACP Journal Club
Latest evidence-based clinical information relevant to internal medicine and its subspecialties. Monthly feature in Annals of Internal Medicine with editorial, abstracts, related articles.
- ACP Journal Club (Ovid)
Consists of two EBM journals, ACP Journal Club & Evidence-Based Medicine, with enhanced abstracts & commentary of selected clinically relevant studies from the top clinical journals.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCOhost)
Consumer drug info in English & Spanish by American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
HIV/AIDS clinical trials and approved treatment and prevention guidelines.
- ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
27 million article records in business, medicine, science, humanities, social sciences, technology. 1990 - present.
- Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.
- Books@Ovid Browse Full Text
Browse about 250 full text medical, nursing & pharmacy books by title.
- Books@Ovid Search Full Text
Search the contents of one or all of about 250 full text medical, nursing & pharmacy books.
- Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
Full text of over 1,000 business publications, including peer-reviewed publications.
- CARLI eBooks
Over 29,000 eBooks in many subject areas: Business & Management (7400+); Social Science (7100+); History (2700+); Literature (2800+); Education (2500+); Philosophy (1500+); Psychology (1300); Health (1200+); Medicine (1000+); & more (only about 30 Nursing books). Create username & password. Limited to St. John's College faculty, staff & students.
- CDC Wonder
Analysis of public health data.
- Census Bureau
United States Census data covering population & housing, economics, social characteristics, education, etc., from 1790 - present.
- CINAHL with Full Text
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Comprehensive source of indexing for 3000 nursing & allied health journals, over 600 with full text. More than 3.2 million records dating back to 1981. See Subject Guide "CINAHL Searching" for tutorials & other help. Click Info button for mobile access.
Over 145,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published from 1990 to present. (For rehabilitation research in U.S., use REHABDATA database.)
Public search engine & digital library primarily for computer & information science literature.
- Clase and Periodica (FirstSearch)
Over 7.6 million document records published in Latin American journals in social sciences, humanities, science & technology. Various languages, 1975 - present.
- Clinical Key
Get faster, more clinically relevant medical & surgical information. Simultaneously searches over 1000 fulltext reference books; over 500 fulltext journals; over 13,000 videos; over 2000 practice guidelines; patient education handouts, etc. Sign up for CME & mobile access.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR) (Ovid)
Over 300,000 bibliographic references to randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials in health care.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)
Full-text systematic reviews of methodological studies by the Cochrane Collaboration.
- Cochrane Methodology Register (Ovid)
Over 9000 references to controlled trials in health care, including journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings & abstracts, & reports.
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost)
Content from 200+ health reference books & encyclopedias, pamphlets & videos.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
An online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- Credo Reference
Search 100 dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc., simultaneously or separately. Subjects include medicine, social sciences, psychology, history, geography, business, science, English Language, Spanish, Latin. Images can be inserted into presentations.
- DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) (Ovid)
Full text critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. It covers topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Dartmouth Atlas Project documents glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the U.S. It uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
- Drug Information Portal
Drug information from U.S. government agencies.
- Ebscohost Databases
Search one or more databases at once: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Elite; CINAHL; Consumer Health Complete; ERIC; GreenFILE; Health Source - Consumer Ed.; Health Source - Nursing Ed.; Military & Government Collection; Newspaper Source; Omnifile Full Text; Regional Business News; Teacher Reference Center; e-Book collection. Mobile access.
- ECO (Electronic Collections Online) (FirstSearch)
Index of over 4.2 million articles from scholarly journals in many subjects. View abstracts & full-text articles from journals to which St. John's subscribes. 1995 - present.
Free education database with over 1 million references from education journals and over 300,000 full-text documents from 1966 to present.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Education database with over 1 million references from education journals and over 300,000 full-text documents from 1966 to present..
- ERIC (FirstSearch)
Education database with over 1 million references from education journals and over 300,000 full-text documents from 1966 to present.
Kennedy Institute of Ethics content relating to bioethics and professional ethics.
- Europe PMC
Over 31 million records of life sciences & biomedical info. Single search includes PubMed records, patents, Agricola records, NHS guidelines. Can sort by "Times Cited" to get most cited articles. Includes a grant lookup tool.
- Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews Database Combined (Ovid)
Searches 7 EBM databases simultaneously, including Cochrane, ACP Journal Club.
Legal information; Find a Lawyer; do-it-yourself legal documents; videos of legal proceedings
- FirstSearch Databases
Search up to 3 databases at once: ArticleFirst; ClasePeriodica (Spanish); Ebooks; ERIC; GPO; Illinois Catalog; Medline; OAIster; PapersFirst; ProceedingsFirst; WorldCat; WorldCat Dissertations.
Ethical, legal, social implications of genetic and genomic research.
- Google Scholar
Simple search for scholarly papers, theses, books, articles in many disciplines. Some items available full-text.
- Google Translate
Translate text or webpage.
- GPO Monthly Catalog (FirstSearch)
U.S. Government publications.
- Grant Forward
Search for over 22,000 funding opportunities from state, federal, foundation, university, etc., sources. Create a free user account to search from home & access other features. Set up grant alerts to be notified of new grants in areas of interest. NOTE: Some users have encountered problems with this database due to our current browser edition. If you need assistance to search grants, please contact Library staff.
Locate and apply for U.S. federal grants.
Citations & abstracts of more than 380,000 articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment, such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912)
Electronic version of Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated magazine. Known for Civil War coverage & illustrations, political cartoons, fiction, essays & humor.
- Health and Society in Video
Health and Society in Video defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society-- with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)
80 full text consumer health magazines
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
500+ full text journals
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Standard reference source for historical statistics. Topics include population, economics, health, crime, migration, slavery, American Indians, Confederacy, etc.
- IHI Open School for Health Professions
Institute for Healthcare Improvement, a nonprofit independent organization, provides a selection of free courses on quality improvement, patient safety, etc. Some courses are not free. Free registration is required.
Over 3.7 million references to historical medical literature, including books, articles, dissertations, reports, etc., from 1400s to 1950. Also includes over 1.4 million records of materials in National Library of Medicine collections.
- Journals@Ovid Browse Full Text
Browse over 500 full text medical, nursing, etc., journals by title.
- Journals@Ovid Search Full Text
Search full text of over 500 medical, nursing, etc., journals.
Database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes maternal and infant levels of drugs, effects on breastfed infants and lactation, & alternate drugs.
Concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, interactions, warnings, precautions, clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility, toxicology, natural products, patient education in various languages, etc. Mobile access available.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexes journals, books, reports and proceedings in librarianship, information management.
- Lippincott Procedures
Step-by-step guides to over 1700 evidence-based procedures & skills for nursing, respiratory therapy, & physical therapy. Includes video clips, diagrams, full-color images, required equipment, skills checklists, patient instructions, etc.
- MAS Ultra-School Edition (EBSCOhost)
Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Literacy Standards, etc.
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost)
1,700 periodicals in reference, business, health, education, general science, etc.
- Medical Device Databases (FDA)
Databases include FDA Certified Mammography Facilities; Manufacturer & User Facility Device Experience (MAUDE); Medical Device Reporting; Premarket Approvals; Recalls of Medical Devices; Total Product Life Cycle, etc.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier database in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences. Over 23 million journal citations from around the world. Many articles have links to full-text. Mobile access available, see Info button for details.
Consumer health information from National Library of Medicine. Includes health topics; surgery videos; drug info; directories of doctors, dentists, hospitals; patient info in 48 languages.
From the FDA, safety information and reporting problems with human medical products.
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost)
Full-text of about 300 periodicals & academic journals with current information pertaining to all branches of the military and government
- MSDS now called SDS
- National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive cancer information.
- National Cancer Institute PDQ (Physician Data Query)
Cancer information and clinical trials.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from AHRQ, Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
Database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from th Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
Neonatal drug dosing information.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
Cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) and international newspapers.
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
Bibliographic data on economic evaluation of health care interventions, especially in UK. Sources include MEDLINE, EMBASE, DARE, specialized working papers, etc. Covers 1995 - present. Funding for NHS EED ends March 2015.
- NICE Evidence Search
High quality authoritative evidence & best practice from the National Institute for Health & Care Excellence (UK). Covers health, social care & public health evidence.
- NORD Rare Disease Database
National Organization for Rare Disorders provides a database of reports covering 1,150 rare diseases.
- Nursing Education in Video
About 300 online videos provide training for nurses and other healthcare staff. Create a free personal account and use clips in services like Epsilen or Blackboard. See the icon for information about mobile access.
- OAIster (FirstSearch)
Digital resources from open archive collections. Includes digitized books & articles, audio files, images, movies, datasets.
- Omnifile Full Text Select (formerly WilsonWeb)
Full text articles in many disciplines. Good for current events.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations - OATD
Over 1.5 million electronic graduate-level theses & dissertations that are freely available online
- OVID Databases
Search one or more databases at once: Medline; Cochrane Database of Sstematic Reviews; DARE; ACP Journal Club; Health Technology Assessment; additional EBM databases; full text journals; full text books. Mobile access available.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Respected authority on the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 600,000 English language words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 3 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
- PapersFirst (FirstSearch)
Index of 6.5 million papers presented at conferences worldwide. 1993 - present.
Physiotherapy Evidence Database is free database of over 30,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews & clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Poisonous Plant Database
From the U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
Free database with abstracts of scientific articles, reports, books, & unpublished reports in the fields of population, reproductive health, & related health issues. About 370,000 records, mostly from 1970 - present, with selected references as early as 1827.
- Primary Search (EBSCOhost)
Full text of more than 70 popular elementary school magazines
- ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch)
Index of worldwide conference proceedings. 192,000 records, 1993 - present.
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
Specialized collection of about 520 high-quality education journals & more than 200 education reports. "The most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world."
- PubMed @ St. John's
National Library of Medicine's database of over 26 million biomedical citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, & online books. After retrieving list of references, select Abstract in dropdown Display box to get links to St. John's full text (blue tab) articles. See Info button for mobile access information.
- PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset
References from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, & herbal supplements in human nutrition & animal models.
- PubMed Health
Reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers & full technical reports for clinicians. Based on systematic reviews of clinical trials.
- Red Book Online
American Academy of Pediatrics guide to diagnosis, treatment, etiology, etc., of over 200 common childhood conditions. Includes CME, Spanish edition, immunization schedules, vaccine status tables, & visual library of 2500+ images that can be downloaded into PowerPoint. Mobile device download available.
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Full text of regional business publications in U.S.
Literature on physical, mental & psychiatric disabilities and rehabilitation, special education, employment, etc., from National Rehabilitation Information Center.
- Rehabilitation Therapy in Video
Largest streaming video resource for occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, & speech-language pathology. About 600 hours of content; many new titles from 2011 or later. Search videos by patient details, therapist specialization, treatment method, presenting problem, & more.
- Sanborn Maps of Illinois, 1867-1970
Historical maps of Illinois cities & towns created for fire insurance purposes. They show development of cities & towns over the years.
- Saskia Art Images Collection
30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture & architecture. Includes images from important collections such as the Prado, the Uffizi, the Louvre, & archaeological sites.
U.S. government resource on all science topics, including computers and science education.
- SDS - Dolphin RTK
List of St. John's and other Safety Data Sheets (formerly MSDS)
- Searchasaurus Elementary School (EBSCOhost)
Search interface intended for children, including health and safety information for children.
- Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
Over 1700 videos covering the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
- Springer Images
Thousands of free medical and life sciences images.
Collection of electronic healthcare resources that can be searched simultaneously or individually. Titles include Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, The ICU Book, Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, & more. Mobile access available.
- SUMSearch 2
Simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews & practice guidelines from multiple sources (PubMed, DARE, National Guidelines Clearinghouse, AHRQ, etc.)
- Taber's Online
Online version of Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. Includes 60,000 medical entries, "sounds like" search feature; full color images & audio. See the Info button for details about mobile access.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
280 journals cover educational Assessment, Continuing Education, Curriculum Development, Elementary & Higher Education, Instructional Media, Literacy Standards, etc.
- Test Reviews Online (Buros Institute of Mental Measurement)
Bibliography of commercially available tests.
- Thomas U.S. Congress Legislative Information
Current & past bills & resolutions, roll call votes, Public Laws, Congressional Record, contact info for Members of Congress, etc.
Locate manufacturers, distributors and service providers.
Over 4 million references & abstracts to toxicology articles & reports.
Simultaneously search over a dozen databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, & toxic release.
- Trip (EBM)
Searches variety of evidence-based sources for best evidence; includes medical images and patient education. Register for free to keep up to date with new content in your areas of interest or to see documents you viewed previously.
Evidence-based clinical information and treatment recommendations covering over 9000 topics across 19 medical specialties. Includes drug info from Lexicomp.
- UpToDate for Patients
Free patient information from the creators of Up To Date.
- USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
Nutrient information on nearly 8,000 foods.
- Women and Social Movements
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. It is organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. It contains over 300 million records of books, journals, etc., from 10,000 libraries worldwide. Covers <1000 BC - present. Find the nearest libraries that own the items you need.
- Worldcat Dissertations
Dissertations and theses from the Worldcat database.
- Zynx Health
Evidence-based summaries for medical conditions and procedures.