This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Finding Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Articles  

Last Updated: Dec 1, 2015 URL: http://st-johns.libguides.com/content.php?pid=80833 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need More Information?

  1. Call Library staff ext. 44566
  2. Search one of Library's databases, such as Ovid MEDLINE or CINAHL.

 

 

Library journals

 

How can I find articles on a topic?

  • To find medical or nursing articles, search in medical or nursing databases such as CINAHL or Ovid MEDLINE . These databases are available throughout St. John’s on Saintsnet (Francis).
  • Search easy-to-use Google Scholar to find free scholarly articles & references on various topics.
  • Go to Alphabetical List of Databases to find other possible databases to search.
  • MEDLINE and some other databases are also available free on the Internet through FirstSearch (Ask librarian for FirstSearch handout for details.) or PubMed.
  • Many Database Tutorials and Search Aids are available to help you search. A CINAHL Searching guide is also available.
  • If you need help getting started, please ask staff for help.
 

How can I get a copy of an article?

  • Full Text Finder" tab on Library website lists all journal titles that the Library owns in print or that we have access to electronically. Follow the links or get journal issues from shelf.
  • Many of the Library's databases have links to full text articles. CINAHL & Ovid MEDLINE databases also indicate if Library owns a journal title.

 

Where are journals located in the Library?

  • Journal titles begin alphabetically with “A” titles in “Journal Stacks” area to the far left (east) of front entrance, past the photocopier alcove.
  • The most recent issue of some selected journals is displayed in “Current Browsing” section opposite the public computer terminals.
  • Because of construction, some of our journals have been moved. Ask a librarian for help!
 

How do I find a journal title in the "Journal Stacks"?

  • Journals are arranged alphabetically by title.
  • Don’t count “The” as the first word of a title:
  • The New England Journal of Medicine is found in the N's.
  • Don't count "the," "for," or "of" in the middle of a title:
  • Journal of the American Geriatrics Society comes before Journal of Christian Nursing.
  • If you can't find a particluar journal, please ask staff for help.   

             

 

I've found the journal title - Now what?

  • First, look for volume number on spine or front of journal.
  • Next, look for issue number (often in parentheses) or date if known.
  • Finally, look for the beginning page number.

          Some journals (especially nursing journals) start each issue with page one.

          Many medical journals are paged consecutively throughout a volume.

  • Page numbers such as S125 or A10 may be found in supplement issues. Supplements often are separate issues but some may be found within regular journal issues.

 

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Roger Swartzbaugh
Contact Info
St. John's Hospital
Health Sciences Library
800 E. Carpenter St.
Springfield, IL 62769
Text: 217-280-4582
Phone: 217-544-6464 ext 44566
Fax: 217-525-2895
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip