- AHA Quality and Patient Safety
Tools, articles and other resources to support hospitals in achieving better patient outcomes, enhanced safety, increased satisfaction and improved operational and financial performance.
- AHRQ Quality & Patient Safety
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality tips for consumers & patients; tools & techniques; reports; patient culture & safety surveys; design & working conditions; communication & teamwork; conferences & workshops; speeches; congressional hearings.
- AHRQ Surveys on Patient Safety Culture
Surveys for hospitals, medical offices, nursing homes & pharmacies
- Alarm Safety Resource Site
Free educational site from ECRI Institute provides guidance & tools to help healthcare facilities improve alarm safety.
- AORN Safety Tool Kits
Includes tool kits for fire safety; correct site surgery; safe patient handling and movement; safe medication administration; just culture (culture of patient safety); patient hand off; sharps safety, etc.
- ASQ (American Society for Quality)
Global community promoting quality in a variety of fields and standards. Has over 80,000 members in more than 150 countries.
- ECRI Institute Patient Safety Center
Includes Healthcare Risk Control System; Health Devices Alerts; patient safety & risk management resources; medical device safety resources; newsletters, etc.
- HealthGrades Patient Safety in American Hospitals Study (2011)
HealthGrades identifies the best-performing hospitals and important patient safety trends.
- Hospital Safety Score
Hospital safety scores in various categories. Search by city or zip code.
- Hospital Survey on Patient Safety Culture: 2012 User Comparative Database Report (AHRQ)
Compare patient safety culture of 1128 U.S. hospitals.
- Improving Patient Safety in Hospitals: A Resource List (AHRQ)
Website links providing practical resources to improve patient safety.
- Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)
Global network for improving patient healthcare. Includes IHI Open School, IHI TV, Failure Mode & Effects Analysis Tool (FMEA) & Trigger Tool for Measuring Adverse Events, etc.
- Institute for Safe Medication Practices
Nonprofit organization known as premier resource for impartial, timely & accurate medication safety information. Offers educational programs, including teleconferences & lectures/presentations.
- Joint Commission International Center for Patient Safety
Patient safety resources & info for patients, families, & health professionals. Includes National Patient Safety Goals & Sentinel Event Alerts.
- Leapfrog Group
Employer-based coalition advocating for improved transparency, quality & safety in hospitals. Compare hospital performance on national standards of safety, quality & efficiency.
- Making Health Care Safer II: An Updated Critical Analysis of the Evidence for Patient Safety Practices
Executive summary of updated report commissioned by AHRQ on the current state of PSPs. Full report also available for download.
- Medical Device Databases (FDA)
Databases include FDA Certified Mammography Facilities; Manufacturer & User Facility Device Experience (MAUDE); Medical Device Reporting; Premarket Approvals; Recalls of Medical Devices; Total Product Life Cycle, etc.
- Medical Device Safety (FDA)
Medical device recalls, alerts, notices from Food & Drug Administration. Get email updates. How to report problems with medical devices.
- Medication Errors (FDA)
Includes federal regulations & guidelines; how to report medication errors; error reports & articles; consumer information; medication safety alerts, etc.
- National Coordinating Council for Medication Error Reporting and Prevention
An independent body comprised of 26 national organizations. Its purpose is to address the interdisciplinary causes of errors and to promote the safe use of medications.
- National Patient Safety Foundation
Includes research projects & grant awards; patient & family resources; patient safety store; programs & conferences, etc.
- National Quality Forum
Nonprofit membership organization that endorses consensus standards for performance measurement to make patient care safer & hold down healthcare costs, etc.
- Order from Chaos: Accelerating Care Integration (Report of the Lucian Leape Institute Roundtable on Care Integration)
National Patient Safety Foundation report highlights link between poor care integration & preventable errors in patient care. (34 pages)
- Patient Safety (Healthy Roads Media)
Short audiovisual presentations (about 5 minutes long) & patient handouts in English & Spanish. Topics include SpeakUP - Prevent Errors in Your Care; Catheter-Associated Bloodstream & Urinary Tract Infections; Medical Errors: Tips to Help Prevent Them; MRSA; Prevent Errors in Your Child's Care; Surgical Site Infections, etc.
- Patient Safety - Joint Commission
Includes safety initiatives such as National Patient Safety Goals, Speak Up, & "Do Not Use" List of abbreviations; Eisenberg Award, etc.
- Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for Nurses
1400-page handbook from AHRQ. Sections include evidence-based practice; patient-centered care; working conditions and work environment for nurses;critical opportunities for patient salary and quality improvement; tools for quality improvement and patient safety.
- Patient Safety Web References & Resources
Links to websites of general interest; for patients & families; for health professionals; for administrators, researchers & other professionals; for consumers; online newsletters, etc.
- Preventing Surgical Fires
Initiative by the FDA & partners, including Joint Commission, to increase awareness of surgical fires & to promote fire prevention & risk reduction practices.
- QSEN: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses
Includes quality & safety competencies; teaching strategies; faculty development learning modules; video presentations ("Lewis Blackman Story" & "Josie King Story"); annotated bibiographies, etc.
- U.S. Pharmacopeia Patient Safety Tools & Resources
Includes USP's Drug Error Finder; patient safety newsletters; alerts on specific drugs; USP Survey on Tablet/Capsule Identification; posters/presentations; published articles; congressional testimony
- VA National Center for Patient Safety
Established in 1999 to develop and nurture a culture of safety throughout the Veterans Health Administration. Its goal is the nationwide reduction and prevention of inadvertent harm to patients as a result of their care.
- WHO (World Health Organization) Surgical Safety Checklist
Goal is to improve patient safety & reduce morbidity & mortality during surgery by ensuring adherence to proven standards of care in all countries.
- WHO Collaborating Centre for Patient Safety Solutions
The Joint Commission and JCR/JCI collaboration with WHO on patient safety related to system design and redesign, product safety, safety of services, and environment of care, as well as offering proactive solutions for patient safety.