- About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
Evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements & more.
- Academic Search Premier (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text articles from over 4700 academic publications in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc. Covers 1975 - present.
- Access NewspaperARCHIVE (WI users only)
Over 400 years of news articles. About two billion articles from over 7300 titles, covering all 50 US states and 22 countries.
- ACP Journal Club
Latest evidence-based clinical information relevant to internal medicine and its subspecialties. Monthly feature in Annals of Internal Medicine with editorial, abstracts, related articles.
- ACP Journal Club (Ovid)
Consists of two EBM journals, ACP Journal Club & Evidence-Based Medicine, with enhanced abstracts & commentary of selected clinically relevant studies from the top clinical journals.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Drug information in lay language for consumers, available in English & Spanish.
HIV/AIDS clinical trials and approved treatment and prevention guidelines.
- Alt HealthWatch (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text articles for almost 200 journals on alternative and holistic health care & wellness. Topics include acupuncture, aromatherapy, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, etc.
- ArticleFirst (FirstSearch)
27 million article records in business, medicine, science, humanities, social sciences, technology. 1990 - present.
- BadgerLink: Wisconsin's Online Library (Wisconsin users only)
Collection of dozens of quality information resources, including many EBSCO databases, for school ages & adults. Includes full-text articles, books, and documents. Badgerlink is a project of the Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction. Clink link to view full list of available resources.
- Books@Ovid Browse Full Text
Browse about 250 full text medical, nursing & pharmacy books by title.
- Books@Ovid Search Full Text
Search the contents of about 250 full text medical, nursing & pharmacy books.
- Britannica Atlas (WI users only)
Interactive world atlas with full-color maps of today's world
- Business Source Premier (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Over 2500 full-text journals covering management, marketing, accounting, finance, & economics. Includes company profiles.
- CDC Wonder
Analysis of public health data.
- Census Bureau
United States Census data covering population & housing, economics, social characteristics, education, etc., from 1790 - present.
- CINAHL with Full Text
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Comprehensive source of indexing for 3000 nursing & allied health journals, over 600 with full text. More than 3.2 million records dating back to 1981. See Subject Guide "CINAHL Searching" for tutorials & other help. Click Info button for mobile access.
Over 145,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published from 1990 to present. (For rehabilitation research in U.S., use REHABDATA database.)
Public search engine & digital library primarily for computer & information science.
- Clase and Periodica (FirstSearch)
Over 7.6 million document records published in Latin American journals in social sciences, humanities, science & technology. Various languages, 1975 - present.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR) (Ovid)
Over 300,000 bibliographic references to randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials in health care.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)
Full-text systematic reviews of methodological studies by the Cochrane Collaboration.
- Cochrane Methodology Register (Ovid)
Over 9000 references to controlled trials in health care, including journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings & abstracts, & reports.
- Consumer Health Complete (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Consumer-oriented health information from mainstream medicine to complementary medicine. Full-text for over 560 magazines & journals & 230 reference books & encyclopedias, & more.
- Consumer Reports Magazine (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text version of the popular consumer magazine. 1991 - present.
- DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) (Ovid)
Full text critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. It covers topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Dartmouth Atlas Project documents glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the U.S. It uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
- Drug Information Portal
Drug information from U.S. government agencies.
- ECO (Electronic Collections Online) (FirstSearch)
Index of over 4.2 million articles from scholarly journals in many subjects. View abstracts & full-text articles from journals to which your institution subscribes. 1995 - present.
- Education Research Complete (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Over 1300 full-text journals & over 550 full-text books covering all levels of education.
- Educational Administration Abstracts (WI users only) (EBSCO
Over 87,000 abstracts & citations on educational administration back to 1966.
Education database with over 1 million references from education journals and over 300,000 full-text documents 1966 to present. (Also available on BadgerLink for WI users)
Kennedy Institute of Ethics content relating to bioethics and professional ethics.
- Europe PMC
Over 31 million records of life sciences & biomedical info. Single search includes PubMed records, patents, Agricola records, NHS guidelines. Can sort by "Times Cited" to get most cited articles. Includes a grant lookup tool.
- Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews Database Combined (Ovid)
Searches 7 EBM databases simultaneously, including Cochrane, ACP Journal Club.
Legal information; Find a Lawyer; do-it-yourself legal documents; videos of legal proceedings
- FirstSearch Databases
Search up to 3 databases at once: ArticleFirst; ClasePeriodica (Spanish); Ebooks; ERIC; GPO; Illinois Catalog; Medline; OAIster; PapersFirst; ProceedingsFirst; WorldCat; WorldAlmanac; WorldCat Dissertations.
- Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Contains over 25,000 entries for students & adults
Ethical, legal, social implications of genetic and genomic research.
- Google Scholar
Simple search for scholarly papers, theses, books, articles in many disciplines. Some items available full-text..
- Google Translate
Translate text or webpage.
- Grant Forward
Search for over 22,000 funding opportunities from state, federal, foundation, university, etc., sources. Create a free user account to search from home & access other features. Set up grant alerts to be notified of new grants in areas of interest. NOTE: Some users have encountered problems with this database due to our current browser edition. If you need assistance to search grants, please contact Library staff.
Locate and apply for U.S. federal grants.
- GreenFILE (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Citations & abstracts of more than 380,000 articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment, such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Rich collection of consumer health information, with access to about 80 full-text consumer health magazines. Covers topics such as medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Collection of about 550 full-text scholarly journals covering nursing and related disciplines.
- HeritageQuest Online (WI users only)
Comprehensive treasury of American genealogical & historical sources, including US Censuses, books, local & family histories.
- History Reference Center (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text of nearly 2000 history reference books; about 57,000 historical documents & 40,000 photos & maps
- Humanities International Complete (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full text of about 1240 journals in literature, philosophy, the arts & history.
- IHI Open School for Health Professions
Institute for Healthcare Improvement, a nonprofit independent organization, provides a selection of free courses on quality improvement, patient safety, etc. Some courses are not free. Free registration is required.
Over 3.7 million references to historical medical literature, including books, articles, dissertations, reports, etc., from 1400s to 1950. Also includes over 1.4 million records of materials in National Library of Medicine collections.
- Journals@Ovid Browse Full Text
Browse over 500 full text medical, nursing, etc., journals by title.
- Journals@Ovid Search Full Text
Search full text of over 500 medical, nursing, etc., journals.
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
Concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, interactions, warnings, precautions, clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility, toxicology, natural products, patient education in various languages, etc. Mobile access available.
- Lippincott Procedures
Step-by-step guides to over 1700 evidence-based procedures & skills for nursing, respiratory therapy, & physical therapy. Includes video clips, diagrams, full-color images, required equipment, skills checklists, patient instructions, etc.
- MasterFILE Premier (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text general reference publications, magazines, newspapers, reference books on many subjects. Includes photos, maps & flags.
- Medical Device Databases (FDA)
Databases include FDA Certified Mammography Facilities; Manufacturer & User Facility Device Experience (MAUDE); Medical Device Reporting; Premarket Approvals; Recalls of Medical Devices; Total Product Life Cycle, etc.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier database in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences. Over 23 million journal citations from around the world. Many articles have links to full-text. Mobile access available, see Info button for details.
Consumer health information from National Library of Medicine. Includes health topics; surgery videos; drug info; directories of doctors, dentists, hospitals; patient info in 48 languages.
From the FDA, safety information and reporting problems with human medical products.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary (WI users only)
The largest, most comprehensive American dictionary currently available in print or online. Includes more than 700,000 definitions; top 10 lists; word of the day.
- Military & Government Collection (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text of about 300 periodicals & academic journals with current information pertaining to all branches of the military and government
- National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive cancer information.
- National Cancer Institute PDQ (Physician Data Query)
Cancer information and clinical trials.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from AHRQ, Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality.
Neonatal drug dosing information.
- Newspaper Source Plus (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text of 63 million newspaper articles & TV & radio transcripts from over 1200 newspapers, 130 newswires & 250 news magazines. Includes articles from Wisconsin State Journal, Madison Capital Times, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram, & others.
- Newswires (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Continuously updated world-wide news from AP, UPI, Business Wire, CNN Wire, etc. Also has 30-day news archive.
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
Bibliographic data on economic evaluation of health care interventions, especially in UK. Sources include MEDLINE, EMBASE, DARE, specialized working papers, etc. Covers 1995 - present. Funding for NHS EED ends March 2015.
- NICE Evidence Search
High quality authoritative evidence & best practice from the National Institute for Health & Care Excellence (UK). Covers health, social care & public health evidence.
- NORD Rare Disease Database
Reports are either written or reviewed by physicians. May purchase full reports for nominal fee.
- OAIster (FirstSearch) (IL users only)
Digital resources from open archive collections. Includes digitized books & articles, audio files, images, movies, datasets.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations - OATD
Over 1.5 million electronic graduate-level theses & dissertations that are freely available online
- OVID Databases
OVID Premier includes full-text of 60 highly rated medical journals, LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier includes 70 nursing journals, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) combines 7 EMB resources in one searchable database (including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Health Technology Assessments, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, ACP Journal Club and more).
- PapersFirst (FirstSearch) (IL users only)
Index of 6.5 million papers presented at conferences worldwide. 1993 - present.
Physiotherapy Evidence Database is free database of over 30,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews & clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Poisonous Plant Database
From the U.S. Food & Drug Administration.
Free database with abstracts of scientific articles, reports, books, & unpublished reports in the fields of population, reproductive health, & related health issues. About 370,000 records, mostly from 1970 - present, with selected references as early as 1827.
- ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch) (IL users only)
Index to worldwide conference proceedings. 192,000 records, 1993 - present.
- Professional Development Collection (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Specialized collection of over 300 full-text education journals & over 200 education reports
- Pubmed @ HSHS
National Library of Medicine's database of over 26 million biomedical citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, & online books. After retrieving list of references, select Abstract in dropdown Display box to get links to HSHS full text (blue tab) articles. See Info button for mobile access information.
- PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset
References from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, & herbal supplements in human nutrition & animal models.
- PubMed Health
Reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers & full technical reports for clinicians. Based on systematic reviews of clinical trials.
- Red Book Online
American Academy of Pediatrics guide to diagnosis, treatment, etiology, etc., of over 200 common childhood conditions. Includes CME, Spanish edition, immunization schedules, vaccine status tables, & visual library of 2700+ images that can be downloaded into PowerPoint. Mobile device download available.
- Regional Business News (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Over 100 full-text regional US & Canadian business publications from 1990 - present
U.S. literature on physical, mental & psychiatric disabilities and rehabilitation, special education, employment, etc., from National Rehabilitation Information Center. (For research conducted outside the U.S., use CIRRIE database)
- Science Reference Center (WI users only)
Full-text science-oriented encyclopedias, reference books & periodicals covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, health & medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, scientists, wildlife, etc. Includes over 730,000 images.
U.S. government resource on all science topics, including computers and science education.
Electronic resources include AHFS Drug Information, AJCC Cancer Staging Handbook, AORN Guidelines, Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses, Marino's ICU Book, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Washington Manual, & more.
- SUMSearch 2
Simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews & practice guidelines from multiple sources (PubMed, DARE, National Guidelines Clearinghouse, AHRQ, etc
- Test Reviews Online (Buros Institute of Mental Measurement)
Bibliography of commercially available tests.
- Thomas U.S. Congress Legislative Information
Current & past bills & resolutions, roll call votes, Public Laws, Congressional Record, contact info for Members of Congress, etc.
Locate manufacturers, distributors and service providers.
Over 4 million references & abstracts to toxicology articles & reports.
Simultaneously search over a dozen databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, & toxic release.
- Trip (EBM)
Searches variety of evidence-based sources for best evidence; includes medical images and patient education. Register for free to keep up to date with new content in your areas of interest or to see documents you viewed previously.
Evidence-based clinical information and treatment recommendations covering over 9000 topics across 19 medical specialties. Includes drug info from Lexicomp.
- UpToDate for Patients
Free patient information from the creators of UpToDate.
- USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
Nutrient information on nearly 8,000 foods.
- Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site (WI users only)
Full-text of 239 Wisconsin newspapers from 2005 - present, with embargo delay of 90 days. Available in WI libraries or by logging in with WI library card.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. It contains over 300 million records of books, journals, etc., from 10,000 libraries worldwide. Covers <1000 BC - present. Find the nearest libraries that own the items you need.
- WorldCat Discovery (IL users only)
Discover more than 1.6 billion electronic, digital and physical resources in our library and libraries around the world through a single search
- Worldcat Dissertations (IL users only)
Dissertations and theses from the Worldcat database.
- Zynx Health
Evidence-based summaries for medical conditions and procedures.