This is the "Hospital Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis" page of the "History of Hospital Sisters Health System (St. Mary's)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History of Hospital Sisters Health System (St. Mary's)  

Last Updated: Dec 1, 2016 URL: http://st-johns.libguides.com/content.php?pid=586243 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Hospital Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis Print Page
  Search: 
 

Hospital Sisters Heritage Museum

  • Heritage Museum
    Historical museum of the Hospital Sisters at Motherhouse in Riverton, IL. Includes Franciscan imagery, personal stories, photographs, artifacts, music, videos. Open by appointment.
 

Additions or Donations

Do you have or know of relevant HSHS historical information we should add? (books, articles, other documents) Please contact us. Thank you for your interest.

Hospital Sisters History - Electronic Resources

 

Hospital Sisters History - Books, etc., Held in Health Sciences Library

Cover Art
150 Jahre St. Rochus-Hospital Telgte (1848-1998) - Bernhard Frings
Call Number: WM 28 GG4 1998
ISBN: 3874662845
Sesquicentennial history of St. Rochus Hospital in Telgte, Germany, founded by Father Christoph Bernsmeyer. This is where the Hospital Sisters began. Black & white photos. (In German)

Cover Art
Come to the Water: The Diocese of Springfield in Illinois 1853-2003, A Sesquicentennial History - Susan Karina Dickey
Call Number: BX 4603.S769 D551c 2002
(Book Stacks)
History of the Diocese of Springfield, with an introductory chapter on Indian & French inhabitants of Illinois prior to 1853. Includes diocesan map & illustrated timeline of events, individuals & institutions. HSHS items - Father Louis Hinssen (p. 17), Hospital Sisters (pp. 24-25), St. Anthony's Hospital fire (p. 75). (154 pages)

Cover Art
The Congregation of the Hospital Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis, Muenster, Germany; Father Christoph Bernsmeyer, OFM, and the Origin and Expansion of His Foundation - Werner Frese & Sister Albinata Peters, OSF
Call Number: BX 4369.68 C6613 1992
History of the Hospital Sisters in Germany. Includes founding of the order by Father Christoph Bernsmeyer, expansion into other countries, black & whites photos & illustrations, appendices of historical documents & maps.

Cover Art
His Love Heals: a History of the Hospital Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis, Springfield, Illinois 1875-1975 - Sister M. Francis Cooke, O.S.F.
Call Number: BX 4359.S67 C773 1977
ISBN: 0819906212
(Reference & Book Cabinet)
History of Hospital Sisters from founding of the Order in 1844 in Germany. Includes chapters on first hospital, St. John's Hospital in Springfield, IL; other HSHS hospitals in Illinois & Wisconsin; missions; & Father Bernsmeyer, founder of the Order. (436 pages)

Cover Art
History of the Hospital Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis - Sister Francis Cooke, O.S.F.
Call Number: BX 4359 C773 1943
(Book Cabinet)
Unpublished doctoral thesis from Marquette University that later became part of His Love Heals. (244 pages)

Cover Art
The Hospital Sisters of St. Francis in China, 1925-1987 - Frances Elizabeth Schmitz
Call Number: BX 4365 S355 1999
(Book Cabinet)
History of the Hospital Sisters' mission in China and lives of the missionaries until the death of the last Sister in China in 1987. (110 pages)

Cover Art
Hospital Sisters of St. Francis, Springfield, Illinois, 1996
Call Number: WX 28AI3 H828h 1996
(Book Cabinet)
Pictorial directory of the American Province of the Hospital Sisters. Directory information includes photograph, birth date & date of first profession. also includes pictures of lay associates & candidates. (54 pages)

Cover Art
One Hundred Years, Franciscan Pioneering: For God and Country - W,S. Hoffman
Call Number: BX 4370.A4 H711 1944
(Reference & Book Cabinet)
Brief history of the Hospital Sisters and their accomplishments up to 1940s. (47 pages)

Cover Art
Pioneer Healers: The History of Women Religious in American Health Care - Ursula Stepsis & Dolores Liptak
Call Number: BX 4220 P662 1989
ISBN: 0824508947
(Book Stacks)
History of women in the healing ministry in America. Hospital Sisters mentioned pp. 35, 100, 102, 125, 127, 129 140, 148, 187 & in Appendix 2 - #1820. (342 pages)

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Roger Swartzbaugh
Contact Info
St. John's Hospital
Health Sciences Library
800 E. Carpenter St.
Springfield, IL 62769
Text: 217-280-4582
Phone: 217-544-6464 ext 44566
Fax: 217-525-2895
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip