This is the "Nursing 336" page of the "Nursing 336: Medical-Surgical Nursing I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing 336: Medical-Surgical Nursing I  

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2016 URL: http://st-johns.libguides.com/content.php?pid=513838 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Nursing 336 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Canvas Link

Canvas
Nursing 336
Fall 2016

 

Need More Information?

  1. Call Library staff ext. 44566
  2. Search Library Catalog for additional books on this topic.
 

Textbooks on Reserve in the Health Sciences Library

Cover Art
Basic Nursing: Concepts, Skills & Reasoning - Leslie S. Treas & Judith M. Wilkinson
Call Number: WY 100 T784b 2014
ISBN: 9780803627789
(On Reserve)
Awarded second place in the 2014 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Medical-Surgical Nursing category!   Leslie S. Treas and Judith Wilkinson integrate all of the content and features into one carefully designed and written volume that teaches you to "think like nurse" from the very first day. In every chapter, you'll first explore the theoretical knowledge behind the concepts, principles, and rationales. Then, you'll study the practical knowledge involved in the processes; and finally, you'll learn the skills and procedures.

Cover Art
Clinical Simulations for Nursing Education: Learner Volume - Marcia L. Gasper & Patricia M. Dillon
Call Number: WY 18 G249L 2012
ISBN: 0803621809
(On Reserve)
51 structured simulation scenarios let students apply the nursing process in a controlled, risk-free environment. Each realistic, patient-care simulation focuses on a defined clinical domain, critical knowledge and skills, levels of competency, evidenced-based practice guidelines, National Patient Safety Goals, and research-based design characteristics. Students can record their reflections at the end of each simulation to enhance self-awareness and develop insights into the patient care delivery process.

Cover Art
Medical-Surgical Nursing: Assessment and Management of Clinical Problems - Sharon L. Lewis, et al.
Call Number: WY 100 M489 2014
ISBN: 9780323100892
9th edition
(On Reserve)
Accurate and up-to-date coverage of the latest trends, hot topics, and clinical developments in the field of medical-surgical nursing. New edition offers the same easy-to-read style that students have come to love, along with the timely and thoroughly accurate content that educators have come to trust. Covers key topics such as prioritization, critical thinking, patient safety, and NCLEX exam preparation.

Cover Art
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students - Linda Skidmore-Roth
Call Number: QV 39 M894 2017
ISBN: 9780323448079
12th edition
(On Reserve)
Provides the latest information on more than 4,000 generic and trade name drugs. Includes detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, drug-specific nursing diagnoses, and IV drugs. Comprehensive drug monographs include generic names, Rx or OTC availability, pronunciations, trade names, functional & chemical classification, controlled-substance schedule, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, unlabeled uses, dosages & routes, available forms, side effects, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, interactions, nursing considerations, and treatment of overdose.

Cover Art
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests - Kathleen Deska Pagana & Timothy J. Pagana
Call Number: QY 39 P128m 2014
ISBN: 9780323089494
5th edition
(On Reserve)
This quick reference handbook offers clear, concise coverage of over 700 of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Authors bring together a comprehensive collection of full color designs, illustrations and photos to show exactly how various tests are performed. Coverage of the clinical significance of test results explains why a given test result indicates specific diseases. Unique front section on coding for diagnostic and laboratory tests (ICD-10) provides explanations of the coding requirements.

Cover Art
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook - Betty J. Ackley & Gail B. Ladwig
Call Number: WY 49 N9747 2014
ISBN: 9780323085496
10th edition
(On reserve)
This convenient reference shows you how to build customized care plans in three easy steps: assess, diagnose, plan. The authors guide you in creating care plans that include desired outcomes, interventions, patient teaching, and evidence-based rationales. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. Recent and classic research examples promote evidence-based interventions and rationales. NEW! QSEN Safety interventions and rationales.

Cover Art
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care - Margaret M. Andrews & Joyceen S. Boyle
Call Number: WY 107 A568t 2016
ISBN: 1451193971
7th edition
(On Reserve)
Rather than just covering specific cultures and expected behaviors/beliefs of that culture, the authors provide students the tools they will need as nurses to effectively perform cultural assessments and incorporate their findings into their interventions. With more culture specific examples in this edition, the text offers the knowledge needed to provide culturally competent and contextually meaningful care for all clients.

Cover Art
Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications - Anne M. Van Leeuwen; Mickey L. Bladh
ISBN: 9780803644052
Publication Date: 2015
6th edition
(electronic version only)
Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this handbook delivers what you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Plus, a Body Systems Appendix includes a list of common laboratory and diagnostic tests for each body system as well as nutrition-related lab tests.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Roger Swartzbaugh
Contact Info
St. John's Hospital
Health Sciences Library
800 E. Carpenter St.
Springfield, IL 62769
Text: 217-280-4582
Phone: 217-544-6464 ext 44566
Fax: 217-525-2895
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip