This is the "Tutorials" page of the "Tutorials and Search Aids for Databases (St. Mary's)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tutorials and Search Aids for Databases (St. Mary's)   Tags: boolean searching, cinahl, databases, deep web, firstsearch, google scholar, medline, micromedex, pubmed, tutorials, uptodate  

Last Updated: Oct 19, 2016 URL: http://st-johns.libguides.com/content.php?pid=508008 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Tutorials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CINAHL & Ovid MEDLINE Directions

One-page, step-by-step guides

 

What's the difference between MEDLINE & PubMed?

 

Boolean Seaching Videos

CINAHL

Go to CINAHL Searching Guide.

      

    Medline & OvidSP

    PubMed

    • PubMed Advanced Search Builder (video)
      How to use Advanced Search builder to refine your PubMed search. (Time: 2:27)
    • PubMed Basics
      Handout - 2 pages
    • PubMed for Nurses
      Video tutorials, totaling about 30 minutes, designed specifically for nurses.
    • PubMed Help
      80 pages
    • PubMed Online Training
      Collection of mostly very short (1-3 minute) animated tutorials on topics such as how to search by subject, author, or journal; filters sidebar; using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings); saving searches & setting email alerts, etc.
    • PubMed Searching with MeSH
      Handout - 2 pages
    • PubMed Tutorial
      Scope & content; MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) vocabulary; building a search using Search builder, fil;ters, etc.; managing results using display, sort, clipboard, save, print, email; saving search strategies; links to full-text; special queries, etc.
    • Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query (video)
      Build a search starting with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) database. Includes brief background on MeSH terms & indexing. (3 min.)

    UpToDate

    • UptoDate Demos
      Brief demos on topics such as mobile apps, CME/CE, enhanced search results, etc.
    • UpToDate User Manual
      Features, searching, searching for graphics, printing & exporting, CME/CE/CPD credit, etc.

    Other Databases

     

    Getting Tables of Contents Alerts for Journals

    More Tables of Contents Help

     

    Contact us

    Laura Brosamer, Librarian

    Phone: 217-464-2182

    Fax:  217-464-1674

    Email: laura.brosamer@hshs.org

     

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip