Recommend a library purchase here: Purchase Suggestion Form.
Library staff will let you know if we can make the purchase.
Expert answers to questions on health care, travel, cooking, technology, etc. Over two million original articles, recipes, product reviews, videos, tutorials, etc. A top 15 content site.
- Acronym Finder Abbreviations & Acronyms Dictionary
Over 750,000 entries. World's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. and abbreviations.
- Bartleby.com Reference
Free classic online reference books including Robert's Rules of Order; Gray's Anatomy; Roget's International Thesaurus; Emily Post's Etiquette; Fannie Farmer's Cook Book; quotation & poetry books; english usage books; religion & mythology books, etc.
- Britannica Atlas (WI users only)
Interactive world atlas with full-color maps of today's world
- Drug Information Portal
Current and accurate drug information on over 56,000 drugs from the National Library of Medicine & other US government agencies.
- Free Reference Books
Variety of reference sources available for searching or downloading
- HeritageQuest Online (WI users only)
Comprehensive treasury of American genealogical & historical sources, including US Censuses, books, local & family histories.
- History Reference Center (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text of nearly 2000 history reference books; about 57,000 historical documents & 40,000 photos & maps
- Martindale's "The Reference Desk"
Links to online resources in business, math, science, technology, languages & translations, medicine, nursing, etc.
- MasterFILE Premier (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text general reference publications, magazines, newspapers, reference books on many subjects. Includes photos, maps & flags.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary (WI users only)
The largest, most comprehensive American dictionary currently available in print or online. Includes more than 700,000 definitions; top 10 lists; word of the day.
- Newspaper Source Plus (WI users only) (EBSCOhost)
Full-text of 63 million newspaper articles & TV & radio transcripts from over 1200 newspapers, 130 newswires & 250 news magazines. Includes articles from Wisconsin State Journal, Madison Capital Times, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram, & others.
- Science Reference Center (WI users only)
Full-text science-oriented encyclopedias, reference books & periodicals covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, health & medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, scientists, wildlife, etc. Includes over 730,000 images.
Includes Webster's New World College Dictionary; Roget's II; Webster's New World Law Dictionary; American Heritage Medical Dictionary; American Heritage Science Dictionary; Wall Street Words; Computer Desktop Encyclopedia; New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy, etc.
St. John's Hospital
Health Sciences Library
800 E. Carpenter St.
Springfield, IL 62769
Phone: 217-544-6464 ext 44566
Fax: 217-525-2895Send Email