NOTE: You can limit to nursing journals in CINAHL, Ovid Medline & PubMed. After you have search results, limit to journal subset for nursing.
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Comprehensive source of indexing for 3000 nursing & allied health journals, over 600 with full text. More than 3.2 million records. To search only nursing journals, limit to "Nursing" Journal Subset. See Subject Guide "CINAHL Searching" for tutorials & other help. Mobile access available. (1981 - present)
- Lippincott's Nursing Procedures and Skills (LNPS)
Step-by-step guide to over 1300 evidence-based procedures. Includes video clips, diagrams, full-color images, required equipment, patient instructions, etc.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier database in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, pre-clinical sciences. Over 23 million journal citations from around the world. Many articles have links to full-text. To search only nursing journals, limit to Journal Subset for nursing. See Subject Guide, "Tutorials and Search Aids for Databases" for help searching Ovid MEDLINE. Mobile access available. (1902 - present)
- National Nursing Database
Comprehensive nursing licensure & disciplinary statistics for US & territories from National Council of Sate Boards of Nursing (NCSBN).
- PubMed@St. Marys
National Library of Medicine's database of over 24 million references to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, lifescience journals, and online books. To limit to nursing journals, limit to Journal Subset for nursing. After retrieving list of references, select Abstract in dropdown Display box to get links to St. John's full text (blue tab) articles. See Subject Guide, "Tutorials and Search Aids for Databases" for help searching PubMed. Mobile access available. (1800s - present)
- AHRQ Nursing Research
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality information. Includes evidence reports, research funding, AHRQ resource links for nurses, etc.
- Joanna Briggs Institute
"International not-for-profit ... organisation specialising in Evidence-Based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health." Includes Best Practice Series database, JBI Library of systematic Reviews, Technical Reports, etc.
- National Institute of Nursing Research
Government agency "dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through the funding of nursing research and research training." Includes grant info, publications, podcasts, etc.
- Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library
Free online access to reliable nursing research and evidence-based knowledge. Search study abstracts and conference abstracts. Has contact info for principal investigators.
Check reference for author affiliation.
Check first page of article for author.
Find author on internet.
Finda another article author has written.
Use CINAHL database search limits - "First author is nurse" or "Any author is nurse" (from mid-2009 on)