- American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN) Internet Resources
Nice list of reputable websites. Includes links to archives, history centers and museums.
- ANA (American Nurses Association) Hall of Fame
Brief biographies of Hall of Fame inductees.
- Beyond the Uniform: History of Nurses in the Military
Links to websites on nursing in the American Civil War, World War II, etc., and famous nurses in the military.
- Brownson's Nursing Notes - Nursing History
Links to nursing history resources, including nursing during various wars & famous nurses.
- Florence Nightingale Digitization Project
Collaborative digital database consisting of about 1900 letters handwritten or narrated by Florence Nightingale. Project members: The Florence Nightingale Museum (London, England), Boston University's Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center, the Wellcome Library (London), and the Royal College of Nursing.
- Google Books - Advanced Book Search
Search for full text of books or magazine articles on nursing history topics. For example, find items written by or about historically significant nurses such as Florence Nightingale, Mother Bickerdyke, Mary Seacole, Edith Cavell, etc.
- History of Nursing Resource Guide
Nice arrangement of links from Virginia Commonwealth U., including various topics; biographies; organizations, images; uniforms, pins & caps; etc.
- Images From the History of Medicine
Photographs, portraits, posters, postcards, etc. Search for nursing or specific topic or person, etc.
- Nursing History Internet Resources
American Association for the History of Nursing provides extensive links to non-profit, educational or government sites relevant to nursing history.
- Nursing Uniforms of the Past and Present
An illustrated history of nursing uniforms from the Middle Ages to the present.
- Open Directory - Nursing History
Links to Clara Barton, Florence Nightingale, Dorothea Dix, military nurses, etc.
- The History of Nursing in America: The Ultimate Web Guide
Includes archives & collections; selected articles; links to organizations; links to other resources.