- America's Health Rankings
America’s Health Rankings® is the longest running, comprehensive perspective of our nation’s health, state by state. Click on a state for its rank, strengths and challenges.
- Cancer.gov (National Cancer Institute)
Information for patients & professionals on specific types of cancer & treatments; screening & testing; prevention; clinical trials; PDQ (Physician Data Query) comprehensive cancer database; statistics, etc.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Recent disease outbreaks; required international travel vaccinations; A-Z index of diseases & conditions; life stages & specific populations; health & safety topics, etc.
- Disease Risk Index
Interactive tool from Harvard School of Public Health that estimates your risk of developing cancer, diabetes, heart disease, osteoporosis or stroke.
- Easy-to-Read Health Information
"Easy-to-Read" materials on various health topics from MedlinePlus.
Health information for the whole family from the American Academy of Family Physicians.
Interactive consumer tool from the federal government that provides a detailed list of potential health insurance coverage options for an individual.
Find a doctor, hospital, or health organization. Use interactive personal health tools. Check the latest health news. Locate health information on many conditions.
- HIV InSite
Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS & its treatment, prevention & related policies. Includes profiles of AIDS/HIV in 195 countries & 10 regions.
- Household Products Database: Health and Safety Information on Household Products
Search by product names or ingredients to find health effects.
Award-winning site provides health information about children from birth through adolescence. Has separate areas for parents, kids, & teens.
- Lab Tests Online
Descriptions of clinical laboratory tests for the general public.
- Mayo Clinic Health Information
Information for the general public about diseases & conditions; symptoms; drugs & supplements; tests & procedures; first aid; healthy lifestyle, including recipes.
- MDConsult Patient Education Handouts
Nearly 10,000 customizable patient education handouts in English & Spanish. Most are written at 6th to 8th grade reading level.
Health conditions; interactive tutorials; surgery videos; patient information in over 40 languages; drugs; health organizations; directories of doctors, dentists, hospitals.
- MLA Top Health Websites
Medical Library Association's list of best health websites for consumers & patients. Categories include websites for general health information, breast cancer, diabetes, eye disease, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, & stroke.
- Multilingual Health Information
Health information in about 60 different languages, from Albanian to Vietnamese.
- National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine
Health information about complementary and alternative medicine health topics & treatments; herbal & dietary supplements, clinical trials, etc.
- NIH SeniorHealth
Authoritative aging-related health information from National Institutes of Health. Site designed to be senior-friendly & easy to navigate. Can resize text & change contrast.
- NORD Rare Disease Database
National Organization for Rare Disorders database of reports on over 1200 rare or "orphan" diseases (affect < 200,000 people). Also includes rare disease organizations; Patient Information Center to contact health professionals; patient assistance programs, etc.
- Patients as Partners in Surgical Care
Current information about surgical procedures, diseases, test, medications & pain management from government and professional sources.
- PubMed Health
Answers the question "What works?" in medical & health care. Contains systematic reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Produced by National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCNI).
International network that investigates health-related frauds, myths, fads, misconduct. Affiliated websites include Autism Watch, Diet Scam Watch, Infomercial Watch, etc.
- UpToDate - Patient Information
"The Basics" have short (1 to 3 page) overviews written in plain language. Many items available in Spanish. "Beyond the Basics" articles are longer, more detailed, and contain medical terminology. (UpToDate only available on hospital computers.)
- User's Guide to Finding and Evaluating Health Information on the Web
Medical Library Association guide includes Top Ten Most Useful Consumer Health Websites; MLA Recommended Websites for Cancer, Diabetes, & Heart Disease.
- Vaccine Information Statements
Information sheets produced by the Centers for Disease Control explaining benefits & risks of specific vaccines. Available in about 40 different languages.