Call Library staff ext. 217-464-2182
- Bartleby.com Reference
Free classic online reference books including Robert's Rules of Order; Gray's Anatomy; Roget's International Thesaurus; Emily Post's Etiquette; Fannie Farmer's Cook Book; quotation & poetry books; english usage books; religion & mythology books, etc.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Hundreds of free classic Christian writings. Includes various Bible versions; Bible dictionaries; church histories; encyclopedias of Christianity; works by St. Augustine, St. Teresa of Avila, Martin Luther, etc.
- Free e-Book Collections for eReaders
Free e-books for Kindle, Nook, iPad, iPhone, Sony & other eReaders. Includes fiction, non-fiction, foreign language materials and audiobooks.
360 free medical books
- Google Books
Free fulltext of thousands of books and magazines. Especially good for out-of-print historical or government publications.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital repository of over 10 million volumes from some of the great research libraries in the U.S., including Big Ten universities, University of California universities, New York Public Library, etc.
- Internet Archive
about 4.6 million free texts; over 1.6 million audio recordings including speeches, audio books, podcasts, radio programs; over 117,000 concerts in live music archive; about 1.3 million free movies, videos, films; Wayback Machine of 346 billion archived web pages from the past.
- Internet Sacred Texts Archive
Largest archive of free, fulltext documents about religion, mythology, folklore, & the esoteric. Includes the Koran, the Rig Veda, Shinto texts, African and Polynesian texts, and much more. Texts are in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.
Collection of free audiobooks read by volunteers. All books are in the public domain (no copyright restrictions).
- National Academies Press
Over 4000 PDF versions of books available free in the fields of medicine, health, education, biology, environment, etc.
- Open Textbook Catalog
Free digital versions of college textbooks on a variety of subjects. Books can also be printed out, generally for $40 or less.
- Project Gutenberg
Over 42,000 free high-quality ebooks. "Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online." All books "were previously published on paper by bona fide publishers."