This is the "New Nursing & Education Books" page of the "New Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Books  

Last Updated: Dec 5, 2016 URL: http://st-johns.libguides.com/content.php?pid=313052 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

New Nursing & Education Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Purchase Suggestions

  • Purchase Suggestion Form
    Recommend a book, journal, video, etc., for library purchase. Library staff will let you know if we can make the purchase.
 

 New Nursing & Education Books in the Health Sciences Library

Cover Art
Principles of Pediatric Nursing: Caring for Children - Jane W. Ball, et al
Call Number: WY 159 B187 2017
ISBN: 9780134257013
7th edition
Written to prepare today's student for excellence in nursing, this book presents core pediatric nursing principles with an emphasis on growth and development, family-centered care, and health promotion and maintenance. The book integrates research, clinical reasoning, and evidence-based practice to help readers make connections between classroom and clinical situations. Clinical reasoning and problem-solving principles help readers develop their clinical judgment so that they can learn to apply information as nursing practice continues to develop.

Cover Art
Pain Management Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice - American Nurses Association & American Society for Pain Management Nursing
Call Number: WY 160.5 A4126 2016
ISBN: 9781558106598
2nd edition
The premier resource for today’s pain management nurse. It addresses what every RN in this evidence-based practice specialty needs to know, including practice roles, tenets and principles, essential knowledge and skills, ethical considerations, and trends in care, education, public policy, and technology. This edition’s 17 competency-based standards provide a framework for evaluating practice outcomes and goals and for delineating what is expected of all pain management nurses. Its scope of practice is the context for applying these standards.

Cover Art
Nursing Administration: Scope and Standards of Practice - American Nurses Association
Call Number: WY 105 N9741 2016
ISBN: 9781558106437
2nd edition
The premier resource for today's nurse administrator. It covers all aspects of a nurse administrator's practice in any setting or role and at any level of influence and authority. Topics discussed include core role accountabilities, role qualifications (including certification and education), and ethics of this nursing specialty, as well as the issues, opportunities and trends that every nurse administrator must know. The core accountabilities alone illustrate the depth and breadth of nursing administration practice.

Cover Art
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference - Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana; Theresa N. Pagana
Call Number: QY 39 P128m 2017
ISBN: 9780323399579
13th edition
Concise test entries are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic testing and research. Each test includes alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. Related tests are cross-referenced. Has convenient A-to-Z thumb tabs, a compact size, and a durable cover for everyday use on the job.

Cover Art
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination - Linda Anne Silvestri
Call Number: WY 18.2 S587s 2017
ISBN: 9780323358514
7th edition
Often called the ''the best NCLEX exam review book ever,'' this new edition provides everything you need to prepare for the NCLEX exam - complete content review and 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kind of questions that consistently test the critical thinking skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option. Includes alternate item format questions.

Cover Art
Medical-Surgical Nursing - 2-Volume Set - Sharon L. Lewis; Linda Bucher; Margaret M. Heitkemper; Mariann M. Harding; Jeffrey Kwong; Dottie Roberts
Call Number: WY 100 M489 2017
ISBN: 9780323355933
10th edition
Highly readable format. Content written and reviewed by leading experts. Expanded Safety Alerts throughout the book highlight patient safety issues and focus on the latest National Patient Safety Goals. "Levels of Care" approach explains how nursing care varies for different levels of health and illness. Chapter review questions reinforce key content while helping you prepare for the NCLEX examination. Case studies help you apply concepts and procedures to real-life patient care. Managing Care of Multiple Patients case studies help you apply your knowledge of various disorders and prioritize and delegate patient care.

Cover Art
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness - Rachel E. Spector
Call Number: WA 31 S741c 2017
ISBN: 9780134413310
9th edition
this book promotes an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds It examines the differences existing within North America by probing the health care system, consumers, and examples of traditional health beliefs and practices among selected populations. An essential for any health-care professional, this book sets the standard for cultural perspectives and more importantly HEALTH--the balance of the person, both within one's being--physical, mental, and spiritual--and in the outside world--natural, communal, and metaphysical.

Cover Art
Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professional - Betty L. Gahart, Adrienne R. Nazareno & Meghan Q. Ortega
Call Number: WB 39 G136i 2017
ISBN: 9780323297394
33rd edition
Safely and effectively administer more than 400 intravenous drugs with the expert guidance of this #1 IV drug handbook! Gahart's continues to be a trusted resource for its accuracy, quick-reference format, and comprehensive coverage of IV drugs. Each drug monograph includes the drug's generic name, trade name(s), drug category, pH, dosages and dose adjustments, dilution, incompatibilities, rate of administration, actions, indications and uses, contraindications, precautions, drug/lab interactions, side effects, and antidote.

Cover Art
Understanding Pathophysiology - Sue E. Huether & Kathryn L. McCance
Call Number: QZ 4 U55 2017
ISBN: 9780323354097
6th edition
(On Reserve)
Easy-to-read text delivers the latest, most accurate information on the disease process across the lifespan. More than 1,000 high-quality illustrations vividly depict clinical manifestations and cellular mechanisms underlying diseases. Lifespan coverage details age-specific conditions affecting pediatric, adult, and aging patients in depth. Algorithms throughout the text clarify disease progression. Glossary of selected terms familiarizes readers with the most difficult or important terminology.

Cover Art
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique - Nancymarie Phillips
Call Number: WY 162 P562b 2017
ISBN: 9780323399265
13th edition
For over 50 years, Berry & Kohn's has been the text of choice for understanding basic surgical principles and techniques. Highly readable, accurate, and comprehensive, it clearly covers the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format that makes it easy to effectively apply basic principles to clinical practice. In-depth discussions of patients with special needs related to age or health status help you learn how to develop a plan of care tailored to the unique care parameters of all patients.

Cover Art
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care - Betty J. Ackley, Gail B. Ladwig, & Mary Beth Flynn Makic
Call Number: WY 49 N9747 2017
ISBN: 9780323322249
11th edition
This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide you in creating unique, individualized care plans.

Cover Art
Transcultural Nursing: Assessment and Intervention - Joyce Newman Giger
Call Number: WY 107 T772 2017
ISBN: 9780323399920
7th edition
This one-of-a-kind resource will help you learn to identify the six key cultural phenomena used in caring for clients from different backgrounds and show you how to apply these phenomena to a variety of individuals in different cultures. There is a full chapter devoted to each of the six aspects of cultural assessment (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biologic variations) to help readers apply this model to any client of any culture - even those not covered in the text.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Nursing - Patricia A. Potter & Anne Griffin Perry, et al
Call Number: WY 100 P868f 2017
ISBN: 9780323327404
9th edition
With illustrated, step-by-step guidelines, this book makes it easy to learn important skills and procedures. Care plans are presented within a nursing process framework, and case studies show how to apply concepts to nursing practice. Helps develop understanding and clinical reasoning you need to provide excellent patient care. Critical Thinking Models in each clinical chapter show how to apply the nursing process and critical thinking to achieve successful clinical outcomes. Unique Evidence-Based Practice boxes in every chapter include a PICO question & summarize a research study along with its application to nursing practice.

Cover Art
Informatics and Nursing: Opportunities and Challenges - Jeanne Sewell
Call Number: WY 26.5 S516i 2016
ISBN: 9781451193206
5th edition
(On Reserve)
A comprehensive informatics text focused on helping the nursing student learn the basics of informatics, from computer basics to skills and techniques for using the end product of informatics: data. This text was designed to capture cutting-edge advancement in nursing informatics core competencies and applications and to present the theories, tools, and skills that every nurse should know. In addition, the book is now full color, has QSEN boxes, as well as additional supplements such as case studies and activities.

Cover Art
Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty - Diane M. Billings & Judith A. Halstead, editors
Call Number: WY 18 T2517 2016
ISBN: 9780323290548
5th edition
This award-winning text is the only one of its kind to cover all three components of teaching: instruction, curriculum, and evaluation. It provides expert guidance on key issues, such as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, redesign of healthcare systems, & advancements in technology. Contains extensive information on online instruction. Evidence-based teaching boxes cover issues, such as how to do evidence-based teaching & applications of evidence-based teaching. Strategies to promote critical thinking and active learning are incorporated throughout the text.

Cover Art
Genetics/Genomics Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice - American Nurses Association
Call Number: WY 16 I61g 2016
ISBN: 9781558106512
2nd edition
Delineation of the competent level of practice and professional performance expected from genetics/genomics registered nurses in all practice levels and settings. The detailed scope of practice discussion gives the context, key issues & trends, & ethical & conceptual bases of the field needed to use the standards.

Cover Art
NCLEX-RN 2016-2017: Strategies, Practice and Review with Practice Test - Kaplan Publishing
Call Number: WY 18.2 I72 2016
ISBN: 9781506202204
With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, this book shows you how to leverage your content knowledge to think like a nurse. Features 10 critical thinking paths to break down what exam questions are asking; 8 end-of-chapter practice sets to help you put critical thinking principles into action; streamlined content review, organized along the exam's "client needs" framework; review of all question types, including alternate-format questions; full-length practice test. Detailed rationales for all answer choices, correct and incorrect. Techniques for mastering the computer adaptive test.

Cover Art
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care - Margaret M. Andrews & Joyceen S. Boyle
Call Number: WY 107 A568t 2016
ISBN: 1451193971
7th edition
Rather than just covering specific cultures and expected behaviors/beliefs of that culture, the authors provide students the tools they will need as nurses to effectively perform cultural assessments and incorporate their findings into their interventions. With more culture specific examples in this edition, the text offers the knowledge needed to provide culturally competent and contextually meaningful care for all clients.

Cover Art
Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the Community - Marcia Stanhope & Jeanette Lancaster, editors
Call Number: WY 106 P976 2016
ISBN: 9780323321532
Provides up-to-date information on issues that impact public health nursing, such as infectious diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and health care policies affecting individuals, families, and communities. Real-life scenarios show examples of health promotion and public health interventions. New to this edition is an emphasis on QSEN skills and an explanation of the influence of the Affordable Care Act on public health. Ideal for students in both BSN and Advanced Practice Nursing programs.

Cover Art
Kozier and Erb's Fundamentals of Nursing: Concepts, Process, and Practice - Audrey T. Berman, Shirlee Snyder & Geralyn Frandsen
Call Number: WY 100 B516 2016
ISBN: 9780133974362
10th edition
With its clear, approachable, writing style, this book sets the foundation for nursing excellence. Coverage of the key concepts of contemporary nursing, as well as the latest nursing evidence, standards, and competencies, helps prepare readers to become effective nurses. To help students develop their clinical-reasoning abilities, new QSEN features draw connections to actual nursing practice. All basic and fundamental skills for the registered nurse are described within the nursing process. Students will learn to think like nurses as they see how the material they are reading is applied in nursing practice.

Cover Art
Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators - Linda Roussel, et al, editors
Call Number: WY 105 M266 2016
ISBN: 9781284067620
Provides professional administrators and nursing students with a comprehensive overview of management concepts and theories. It is framed around the Scope and Standards for Nurse Administrators, American Organization of Nurse Executive competencies, and current trends in healthcare management. The American Nurses Credentialing Center’s focus on magnetism is also integrated into this edition.

Cover Art
Human Anatomy and Physiology - Elaine N. Marieb & Katja Hoehn
Call Number: QS 4 M334h 2016
ISBN: 9780321927040
10th edition
Human Anatomy & Physiology has launched the careers of more than three million healthcare professionals. Each chapter opens with a visual "Chapter Roadmap" that guides students through the material and shows how concepts are related within and across chapters. The new modular organization makes key concepts more readily apparent and understandable to students.

Cover Art
2016 Intravenous Medications: a Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals - Betty L. Gahart, et al
Call Number: WB 39 G136i 2016
ISBN: 9780323296601
32nd edition
Trusted for more than 40 years for its accuracy, quick-reference format, and comprehensive coverage. Each drug monograph includes the drug's generic name, trade name(s), drug category, pH, dosages and dose adjustments, dilution, incompatibilities, rate of administration, actions, indications and uses, contraindications, precautions, drug/lab interactions, side effects, and antidote. Age-specific dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients.

Cover Art
Merenstein and Gardner's Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care - Sandra Lee Gardner, et al, editors
Call Number: WS 421 M559 2016
ISBN: 9780323320832
8th edition
Concise, comprehensive coverage with a unique multidisciplinary approach and real-world perspective makes this book an essential guide for both neonatal nurses and physicians. It features the latest neonatal research, evidence, clinical guidelines, and practice recommendations - all in a practical quick-reference format for easy retrieval and review of key information. Clinical images, graphs, and algorithms illustrate clinically relevant concepts in neonatal intensive care. Streamlined references include only the most current or classic sources.

Cover Art
Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care - Jacqueline Rosenjack Burchum & Laura D. Rosenthal
Call Number: QV 4 B947 2016
ISBN: 9780323321907
Lehne's provides a solid understanding of key drugs and their implications for nursing care. A perennial student favorite, this book simplifies complex concepts, using large and small print to distinguish need-to-know drug content from the material that's merely nice to know. New to this edition are quick-reference summaries of prototype drugs, safety alerts, and a stronger QSEN focus.

Cover Art
Nursing 2016 Drug Handbook - Lippincott Mercer Staff
Call Number: QV 39 N9747 2016
ISBN: 9781469887043
36th edition
Best-selling drug handbook for nurses provides complete monographs for more than 900 generic and thousands of brand-name drugs. Monographs focus on the practical information that nurses need. Each monograph consists of generic and trade names, pronunciation key, pregnancy risk category, controlled substance schedule (if applicable), available forms, indications and dosages, administration, action, adverse reactions, interactions, contraindications, nursing considerations, and patient teaching.

Cover Art
Sandra Smith's Review for NCLEX-RN - Marianne P. Barba & Sandra F. Smith
Call Number: WY 18.2 B228s 2016
ISBN: 9781284070910
13th edition
Features 2,500 NCLEX® formatted practice questions with detailed answers and rationales that stimulate critical thinking. The reader-friendly approach includes a clear and concise outline format with study guidelines and test-taking strategies. It also covers all of the latest trends, evidence-based treatment guidelines, and additional updated information needed for safe clinical practice and patient care.New to this edition is an expanded emphasis on patient safety, the National Patient Safety Goals and NCLEX examination preparation, ties to QSEN competencies, and a greater focus on evidence-based clinical practice.

Cover Art
Information Overload: Framework, Tips, and Tools to Manage in Complex Healthcare Environments - Mary C. Sitterding; Marion Broome; American Nurses Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: WY 100.1 S623 2015
ISBN: 9781558106079
Brings you to a better understanding of the numerous factors that influence nurses’ interpretation of the information and cues they deal with every day in practice. Relevant to all levels of nurses practicing in health care organizations and academic institutions, “Information Overload” is structured so that you can weave in and out of chapters relevant to your particular area of interest.

Cover Art
What Would Florence Do? A Guide for New Nurse Managers - Sue Johnson
Call Number: WY 105 J69w 2015
ISBN: 9781558105836
(American Nurses Association book)
A guide for new nurse managers, with Florence Nightingale as a mentor. Includes Nightingale-based perspectives on advocacy, communication, conflict and collaboration, career and staff development, community partnerships, evidence- and research-based practice, resource and fiscal management, safety, and strategic planning in health care and nursing.

Cover Art
Cardiac-Vascular Nursing Review and Resource Manual - Lynn Smith
Call Number: WY 18.2 S654 2015
ISBN: 9781935213734
4th edition
A must-have tool for nurses planning to take the American Nurses Credentialing Center's (ANCC's) Cardiac-Vascular Nursing certification exam.
Based on the official ANCC certification exam test content outline, this book will help you study and analyze comprehensive material and concepts written by nursing experts; develop a recommended seven-step plan to equip you for the exam and map out what to do on the day of the exam; prepare for and familiarize yourself with cardiac-vascular nursing standards of practice, & much more

Cover Art
Cardiovascular Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice - American Nurses Association
Call Number: WY 152.5 A512c 2015
ISBN: 9781558106239
2nd edition
Developed by cardiovascular nurse experts from across the profession, the scope of practice addresses what is expected of all cardiovascular nurses, specifying the who, what, where, when, why and how of cardiovascular nursing. The 16 standards provide a framework for evaluating cardiovascular nursing outcomes and goals for which all cardiovascular nurses are held accountable in their practice.

Cover Art
Pediatric Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice - American Nurses Association, et al
Call Number: WY 159 N2765p 2015
ISBN: 9781558106352
2nd edition
Adresses what is expected of all pediatric nurses by detailing 16 standards, which offer a framework for evaluating practice outcomes and goals. The set of specific competencies accompanying each standard serves as evidence of minimal compliance with that standard.

Cover Art
2015 Handbook of Emergency Cardiovascular Care for Healthcare Providers - Mary Fran Hazinski
Call Number: WA 292 H236 2015
ISBN: 9781616693978
This pocket-sized, spiral-bound reference tool, highly-popular among healthcare professionals, provides convenient, quick access to the latest resuscitation science and treatment information. The handbook is organized by basic, advanced adult and pediatric life support, and newborn resuscitation. It provides algorithms, protocols, sequences, drug dosages, and much more.

Cover Art
Errors of Omission: How Missed Nursing Care Imperils Patients - Beatrice J. Kalisch; American Nurses Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: WY 100.1 K14 2015
ISBN: 9781558106314
Errors of Omission offers an in-depth review of the correlation between missed nursing care—standard, required nursing care that is left undone—and adverse outcomes in both patient care and nurse staff retention. This is a must-have book for all nurses. Staff nurses and managers will find this book extremely valuable for their work in providing the highest standards of safe and quality care. Nursing students will gain a thorough understanding of the science and value of nursing care and the associated impacts of not providing it.

Cover Art
Wong's Nursing Care of Infants and Children - Marilyn J. Hockenberry & David Wilson
Call Number: WY 159 W872 2015
ISBN: 9780323222419
10th edition
The leading text in pediatric nursing, Wong's takes a unique, easy-to-understand developmental approach to describe the care of children at each age and stage of development. Childhood diseases and disorders are organized by age groups and body systems, and described through the nursing process framework. This edition includes updates on topics such as the new CPR guidelines, immunizations, and pain assessment and management. It provides an evidence-based, clinical perspective that shows how the quality of nursing care can impact quality patient outcomes. Critical thinking exercises use case studies to help you test and develop your own analytical skills.

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Roger Swartzbaugh
Contact Info
St. John's Hospital
Health Sciences Library
800 E. Carpenter St.
Springfield, IL 62769
Text: 217-280-4582
Phone: 217-544-6464 ext 44566
Fax: 217-525-2895
Send Email

ANA Books

  • ANA (American Nurses Association) Books
    The Health Sciences Library receives new ANA books (in print format) as they are published.

    Search the Library Catalog for "american nurses association" in general keyword to find ANA print publications owned by the Library.

    Search Electronic Books to find electronic versions of some recent ANA publications.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip