This is the "Ethics" page of the "Ethics in Healthcare" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ethics in Healthcare  

Last Updated: Nov 22, 2016 URL: http://st-johns.libguides.com/content.php?pid=240913 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Ethics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ethical & Religious Directives

 

Comprehensive Accreditation Manual for Hospitals (CAMH)

HR.01.04.01: The hospital provides orientation to staff.

 6. The hospital orients staff on the following: Patient rights, including ethical aspects of care, treatment, and services and the process used to address ethical issues based on their job duties and responsibilities. Completion of this orientation is documented.

LD.04.02.03: Ethical principles guide the hospital's business practices.

MS.11.01.01: The medical staff implements a process to identify and manage matters of individual health for licensed independent practitioners which is separate from actions taken for disciplinary purposes.

5. Process design addresses the following issues: Maintenance of confidentiality of the licensed independent practitioner seeking referral or referred for assistance, except as limited by applicable law, ethical obligation, or when the health and safety of a patient is threatened.

Feature Article

Ethics Databases

  • BELIT - Bioethics Literature Database
    Integrated database of about 470,000 references from American, German, and French database sources, including journal and newspaper articles; books; monographs; grey literature; legal documents.
  • Bioethicsline (1972-1999)
    Contains over 50,000 bibliographic citations for resources that cover literature on a wide range of bioethical issues. References also moved to PubMed database.
  • ETHXWeb
    Citations to literature on bioethics and professional ethics
  • GenETHX
    Citations to literature on the ethical, legal & social implications of genetic & genomic research
  • Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics
    Citations to literature on Islamic medical & scientific ethics
  • PubMed
    Over 21 million references. Limit to Subject - Bioethics to search only bioethics references.

Ethics Websites

  • AMA's Code of Medical Ethics
  • Bioethics Resources on the Web
    Bioethics info from the National Institutes of Health & other US government offices, programs, publications, reports, guidelines & regulations. Includes a listing of general bioethics resources.
  • Bioethics.net
    New & analysis of current bioethical issues from the American Journal of Bioethics. Includes a "Bioethics for Beginners," bioethics blog, & some free articles on various topics.
  • Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity
    Examines the issues of bioethics using rigorous research, conceptual analysis, charitable critique, leading-edge publication, and effective teaching. CBHD is a bioethics research center of Trinity International University.
  • Hastings Center
    Independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit bioethics research institute focused on ethical issues in health, medicine and the environment.
  • Kennedy Institute of Ethics
    Bioethics databases, bibliographies, organizations, publications, & other Web resources.
  • National Catholic Bioethics Center
    Established in 1972 to defend the dignity of the human person in health care & life sciences through educational programs, publishing, consultation & research.
  • University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics
    The JCB is a partnership between the U of Toronto & affiliated healthcare organizations. It studies important ethical, health-related topics through research and clinical activities.
 

Where to Find Ethics Books or Videos in Health Sciences Library

W 50  - Books or videos on medical ethics

WB 60 - Books on bioethics & clinical ethics

WY 85 - Books or videos on nursing ethics

 

Selected Ethics Books in the Health Sciences Library

Cover Art
Moral Distress and You: Supporting Ethical Practice and Moral Resilience in Nursing - Cynda H. Rushton & Melissa J. Kurtz
Call Number: WY 85 R954 2015
ISBN: 9781558105874
As a nurse, you must know how to recognize and effectively address situations that create moral distress. Arming yourself with the knowledge, skills and tools to effectively support moral environment and resilience can help you overcome issues of moral distress and enable you to provide better patient care.

Cover Art
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements - American Nurses Association Staff
Call Number: WY 85 A512c 2015
ISBN: 9781558105997
Completely updated Code of Ethics for Nurses. This book is the definitive framework for ethical analysis and decision-making for RNs across all practice levels, roles and settings. The Code was developed as a guide for carrying out nursing responsibilities in a manner consistent with quality in nursing care and the ethical obligations of the profession.

Cover Art
Code of Medical Ethics of the American Medical Association - American Medical Association Staff
Call Number: W 50 A512c 2014-15
ISBN: 9781622021819
For 167 years, the Code of Medical Ethics has been the authoritative guide on medical professionalism. First developed in 1847, the Code undergoes regular revisions, and sets the standard for practicing principled medicine. This edition presents guidance through more than 200 ethical opinions on topics ranging from professionalism in the use of social media, to genetic testing and counseling, to financial relationships with industry in continuing medical education.

Cover Art
Legal and Ethical Issues in Nursing - Ginny Wacker Guido
Call Number: WY 33AA1 G948L 2014
ISBN: 9780133355871
Publication Date: 2014
6th edition

Cover Art
The Hastings Center Guidelines for Decisions on Life-Sustaining Treatment and Care near the End of Life - Nancy Berlinger, Bruce Jennings, & Susan M. Wolf
Call Number: WX 162 B515 2013
ISBN: 9780199974566
2nd edition
This major new work updates and significantly expands The Hastings Center's 1987 Guidelines on the Termination of Life-Sustaining Treatment and Care of the Dying. Like its predecessor, this second edition will shape the ethical and legal framework for decision-making on treatment and end-of-life care in the United States. This groundbreaking work incorporates 25 years of research and innovation in clinical care, law, and policy. It is written for physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals and is structured for easy reference in difficult clinical situations.

Cover Art
The Ethics Role in Catholic Health Care - Catholic Health Association
Call Number: W 50 E84 2010
Among those who have responsibility for "doing ethics" in Catholic health care are professional ethicists. This collection of previously published materials explores the role of the ethicist in Catholic health care, identifies some of the challenges facing the ministry with regard to the ethics roles, and suggests some competencies and qualifications for facility and system ethicists moving into the future.

Cover Art
Catholic Health Care Ethics: A Manual for Practitioners - Edward J. Furton, et al, editors
Call Number: W 50 C363 2009
ISBN: 9780935372540
More than thirty experts examine moral action theory, key ethical principles, ethics committees, embryo & fetus, contraception, reproductive technologies, difficult pregnancies, rape protocols, determination of death, palliative care, nutrition and hydration, persistent vegetative state, DNR orders, health care proxies, organ donation, vaccination refusals, genetic medicine, human experimentation, religious freedom, triage, cooperation with evil, state mandates, organizational ethics, & more. An ideal resource for hospital ethics committees and for classroom use in colleges, universities, and nursing schools.

Cover Art
Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services - United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
Call Number: BX 1795.H4 E84 2009
5th edition

Cover Art
Genetics and Ethics in Health Care: New Questions in the Age of Genomic Health - American Nurses Association
Call Number: QZ 50 G32805 2009

Cover Art
Handbook for Health Care Ethics Committees - Linda Farber Post, et al
Call Number: WB 60 P857h 2007

Cover Art
Let Them Go Free: A Guide to Withdrawing Life Support - Thomas A. Shannon & Charles N. Faso
Call Number: WB 60 S528l 2007

Cover Art
Clinical Ethics: A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine - Albert R. Jonsen, et al
Call Number: WB 60 J81c 2006
6th edition

Cover Art
Introduction to Jewish and Catholic Bioethics: A Comparative Analysis - Aaron L. Mackler
Call Number: WB 60 M158i 2003

Cover Art
Biomedical Ethics - Thomas A. Mappes & David DeGrazia
Call Number: W 50 B6153 2001
5th edition

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Roger Swartzbaugh
Contact Info
St. John's Hospital
Health Sciences Library
800 E. Carpenter St.
Springfield, IL 62769
Text: 217-280-4582
Phone: 217-544-6464 ext 44566
Fax: 217-525-2895
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip