This is the "Nursing Research" page of the "Nursing Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Research  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2016 URL: http://st-johns.libguides.com/content.php?pid=106861 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Nursing Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Subject Guide

Nursing Research Websites

  • AHRQ Nursing Research
    Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality information. Includes evidence reports, research funding, AHRQ resource links for nurses, etc.
  • Joanna Briggs Institute
    "International not-for-profit ... organisation specialising in Evidence-Based resources for healthcare professionals in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health." Includes Best Practice Series database, JBI Library of systematic Reviews, Technical Reports, etc.
  • National Institute of Nursing Research
    Government agency "dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through the funding of nursing research and research training." Includes grant info, publications, podcasts, etc.
  • Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library
    Free online access to reliable nursing research and evidence-based knowledge. Search study abstracts and conference abstracts. Has contact info for principal investigators.
 

Selected Nursing Research Books in the Health Sciences Library

Search Library Catalog for additional books on this topic.

Cover Art
Basic Steps in Planning Nursing Research: From Question to Proposal - Marilynn J. Wood & Janet C. Ross-Kerr
Call Number: WY 20.5 W877b 2011
7th edition

Cover Art
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research - Bethel Ann Powers & Thomas R. Knapp
Call Number: WY 13 P888d 2006
3rd edition
Reference Book

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research - Joyce J. Fitzpatrick & Meredith Wallace, editors
Call Number: WY 13 E563 2006
2nd edition

Cover Art
Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice - Denise Polit & Cheryl Tatano Beck
Call Number: WY 20.5 P769e 2014
ISBN: 9781451176797
8th edition

Cover Art
Instruments for Clinical Health-Care Research - Marilyn Frank-Stromborg & Sharon J. Olsen, editors
Call Number: WY 20.5 I59 2004
3rd edition

Cover Art
Introduction to Nursing Research - Carol Boswell; Colleen A. Kvaska; Melinda Blackman
Call Number: WY 20.5 I6196 2011
ISBN: 9780763776152
2nd edition

Cover Art
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research - Carolyn Feher Waltz, et al
Call Number: WY 20.5 W241 2010
4th edition

Cover Art
Mixed Methods Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences - edited by Sharon Andrew & Elizabeth J. Halcomb
Call Number: WY 20.5 M685 2009

Cover Art
Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice - Denise F. Polit & Cheryl Tatano Beck
Call Number: WY 20.5 P769n 2012
ISBN: 1605477087
9th edition

Cover Art
Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice - Geri LoBiondo-Wood & Judith Haber
Call Number: WY 20.5 N9745 2014
ISBN: 9780323100861
With an emphasis on how nursing research is appraised and applied, this book offers a comprehensive introduction to the nursing research concepts and methods essential to today's evidence-based healthcare environment. Coverage includes clear guidelines for evaluating research and applying scientific evidence to practice, qualitative and quantitative research, appraising and critiquing research, critical thinking, and clinical decision making using research information.

Cover Art
Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence - Janet Houser
Call Number: WY 20.5 H842n 2012
2nd edition

Cover Art
Understanding Nursing Research - Susan K. Grove; Jennifer R. Gray; Nancy Burns
Call Number: WY 20.5 G883 2015
ISBN: 9781455770601
6th edition

Cover Art
Understanding Nursing Research: Using Research in Evidence-Based Practice - Carol L. Macnee & Susan McCabe
Call Number: WY 20.5 M169u 2008
2nd edition

Cover Art
Writing for Publication in Nursing - Marilyn H. Oermann & Judith C. Hays
Call Number: WZ 345 O29w 2010
2nd edition

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Roger Swartzbaugh
Contact Info
St. John's Hospital
Health Sciences Library
800 E. Carpenter St.
Springfield, IL 62769
Text: 217-280-4582
Phone: 217-544-6464 ext 44566
Fax: 217-525-2895
Send Email
 

  How to Tell if a Nurse Wrote the Article

Check reference for author affiliation.

Check first page of article for author.

Find author on internet.

Finda another article author has written.

Use CINAHL database search limits - "First author is nurse" or "Any author is nurse" (from mid-2009 on)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip